December 19 2010

Press Release: 'VOICE FOR AGRICULTURE' Wins WCHS Award

The Wayne County Historical Society has announced that this year's "People Who Make a Difference in Wayne County Agriculture" Award will go to Dave Williams of Cherry Ridge. The award will be presented on the stage outside the historical society's J. B. Park Farm museum at the Wayne County Fair on Friday, August 13, at 30 pm.

WCHS Agriculture Committee chair Linda Dix Lee writes, "Dave has been a lifelong advocate for Wayne County agriculture. Born into the farming community and still a farmer in Cherry Ridge, Dave's advocacy for agriculture has reached from local to the state and national levels through his innovative use of the media. He could easily be called 'the voice of agriculture for Wayne County.' Through the Wayne County Farm Bureau, he has a weekly radio show dealing with issues of critical interest to the farming community. Both Pennsylvania governor Ed Rendell and Secretary of Agriculture Wolfe have appeared on his radio show. Currently, he is developing similar radio shows for Susquehanna, Wyoming and Lackawanna Counties"

Williams is active in the Farm Bureau, currently Wayne County Director, Pennsylvania State Board Director of District 1 and delegate to the American Farm Bureau Federation. He is also president of the Southern Wayne Antique Machinery and Historical Association, Director for the Greene-Dreher-Sterling Fair Association and chair of fair entertainment, coordinator of Farm Bureau outreach at both the Wayne County and G-D-S fairs, member of the Beech Grove Grange, FFA alumnus and past 4-H member.

Dave is also a "voice for agriculture" at both Wayne County fairs, doing public presentations that showcase farming from the past into the future. The Wayne County Historical Society's J. B. Park Farm Museum has featured his presentations many times and proved that he is a magnet for crowds. Dave Williams is a past historical society trustee and was instrumental in bringing the Spencer Steam Tractor back to Wayne County. He also helped in establishing the very award of which he is now the latest recipient.