Home of the Stourbridge Lion Replica, The First Steam Locomotive To Run in America

December 16 2009

Press Release: 'Food For Thought' Schedule Complete


Mimi Steffen

The lineup for the Wayne County Historical Society's "Food for Thought" series of talks on Wayne County history is now complete. Albert G. Rutherford kicked off the series Sat., May 16, with the story of David McKelvy Peterson, America's first World War I ace and a Honesdale native.

Next Sat., May 27, the speaker is Mimi Steffen. Mimi, a former teacher herself, is the daughter of a teacher in one-room schools in Wayne County, and several years ago she began collecting the names and other data on the teachers in those schools through the years. Her database contains thousands of names along with the information she has gathered on the schools they taught in, the years they taught and in some cases, their salaries. Along the way, Mimi has absorbed a large amount of information on the history and culture of the era of one-room schools and is currently working on a book. Her talk is scheduled from 30 to 5:30 pm in the multi-purpose room of the Wayne County Historical Society, 810 Main Street, Honesdale.

Following is the remainder of the "Food for Thought" schedule. All talks begin are from 30 to 5:30 pm in the multi-purpose room.

DateSubjectSpeakers
Sat., June 6 "Jones & Roa Expedition, Honesdale, PA to Kingston, NY" Darren Jones & Ryan Roa
Sat., June 20 "A Stage Coach Ride from Newburgh, NY, across Wayne County" Mary Curtis
Sat., June 27 "The Irish Experience in Wayne County" Gene Tagle
Sat., July 11 "Murder, Mayhem & Sundry Misadventures in Wayne County" Gloria McCullough & Ann O'Hara
Sat., July 25 "The Battle of Minisink" George Fluhr
Sat., Aug. 8 "The Stourbridge Lion" Ken Sproson
Sat., Aug. 15 "Early Settlers of Honesdale" Ann O'Hara & Gloria McCullough
Sat., Sept. 5 "The Irving Cliff Hotel The Real Story" Christine San Jose
Sat., Sept. 19 "History of Hawley" Gene Tagle
Sat., Oct. 3 "Researching the History of Your House" Sally Talaga
Sat., Oct. 31 "WCHS's Works of Art by Jennie Brownscombe" Sally Talaga

For more information, contact the Wayne County Historical Society at 570-253-3240 or wchshop@ptd.net or stop in at the museum, 810 Main St., between 10 am and 4 pm Wednesday through Saturday.